Patricia Rice: biography, books, awards

Table of contents:

Patricia Rice: biography, books, awards
Patricia Rice: biography, books, awards

Video: Patricia Rice: biography, books, awards

Video: Patricia Rice: biography, books, awards
Video: Meghan Pouts Mid Speech 2023, October

Patricia Rice is an author of historical and contemporary novels, many of which have become bestsellers. She creates worlds filled with eccentric characters and strong heroines. Her latest modern paranormal series "Magic" has received a wide response from readers.

The start of the journey

The first volumes of Patricia Rice's Love's First Kiss (1984) and Night's Delights (1985) were handwritten on paper with a pen in 1980 and then printed on an ancient electric Underwood with a broken S button After the writer sold The Lady Witch (1986), she purchased a Smith-Corona typewriter with a built-in erasing mechanism.

Her first old Leading Edge computer was haunted and kept losing precious words, so she continued to write by hand for years.

reading a women's novel
reading a women's novel


Patricia Rice is married to her high school sweetheart and has two children. She was born in New York and raised in Kentucky and now lives in St. Louis, Missouri. She is a member of Romance Writers of America("Novelists of America"), Authors Guild and Novelists Inc., as well as numerous professional accounting organizations and local charities.

With several million books in print and on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists, Patricia Rice is one of the world's most popular novelists. Inspiring and emotional, the author's contemporary and historical romance novels have received numerous awards, including the Romantic Timing Choice and Lifetime Achievement Awards, as well as the Bookrak Bestselling Paperback Award. Her books have also been named RITA Novelists of America finalists in the Historical, Regents and Contemporary categories.

Books by Patricia Rice

Among the works of the writer you can find novels filled with magic, romance and mystery, cowboys and sailors, dukes and billionaires, located in worlds from modern to historical and fantastic. They are written in genres such as historical, modern and paranormal romance.

book with flowers
book with flowers

Patricia Rice prefers to stick to era descriptions and words in her historical novels. In mystical works, she adds psychic elements that could fit the era, trying to keep the story accurate.

Historical novels

  • "Love's First Kiss" (1984).
  • "Night Delights" (1985).
  • "Mistress Witch" (1985).
  • "Deceived Love" (1987).
  • "Moonlight" (1988).
  • "Beautiful Witch" (1988).
  • "Scam Lord" (1989).
  • "The Cheyenne Lady" (1989).
  • "Love Forever" (1990).
  • "A Touch of Magic" (1992).
  • "Protected by Love" (1992).
  • "Shelter from the Storm" (1993).
  • "Full Moon and Memories" (1993).
  • "Volcano of Love" (1996).
  • "Lost Angel" (1997).
  • "Surrendered" (1998).
  • "Whatever a Woman Wants" (2001).
  • "The English Heiress" (2012).

Book Series

In order to have an idea where to start reading, you should list all the books by Patricia Rice by series.

"Dreams" (Dreams):

  • "Dreams of Love" (1991).
  • "Wakeful Dreams" (1991).

Regency Novels with Related Characters:

  • "Mad Mary's Daughter" (1992).
  • "Insidious Deception" (1992).
  • "Genuine" (1994).
  • "Wish and Honor" (1997).

"Too hard to bear":

  • "Texas Lily" (1994).
  • "Texas Rose" (2012).
  • Texas Tiger (2012).
  • "Texas Moon" (2012).

"Paper Trilogy":

  • "Paperroses" (1995).
  • "Paper Tiger" (1995).
  • "Paper Moon" (1996).


  • "Simply Magic" (2000).
  • "Must be magic" (2002).
  • "Magic Trouble" (2003).
  • "Magic Moment" (2004).
  • "Much Ado About Magic" (2005).
  • "Magic Man" (2006).
  • book romantic
    book romantic

"Mystical Island":

  • "Mystic Guardian" (2007).
  • "Mystery Racer" (2008).
  • "Mystic Warrior" (2009).

The Rebellious Sons:

  • "The Earl's Bride" (2010).
  • "The Incomparable Lord Meath" (2012).
  • "Devil Montague" (2013).

"Magic Series":

  • "The McCloud Woman" (March 2003).
  • "Almost Perfect" (February 2002).
  • "Nobody's an Angel" (February 2001).
  • "Impossible Dreams" (April 2000).
  • "Christmas Angel" (November 1995).
  • "Country Christmas" (November 1993).

Awards and prizes

In 1989-1990, Patricia Rice won the Romantic Times Lifetime Achievement Award for historical fantasy books.

In 1992-1993 - the winner of the "For Career Growth" award from the Romantic Times magazine as the author of historicalnovels of the year.

In 2000, Rice won the Romantic Times Lifetime Achievement Award for contemporary novel writing.

Novelists of America - RITA Finalist in History, Regency and Contemporary categories.

RITA award
RITA award

Nominated by the Romantic Times Book Club for the 2006 Reviewers' Choice Award for The Magician.

To date, Patricia Rice has written and published more than 70 books, and, according to the writer herself, she does not intend to stop there. Rice is active on social media, regularly updating his Facebook page, adding to his blog, and also posting on Twitter. She willingly answers questions from her fans and readers about books both on her personal blog and on other resources of Patricia Rice book lovers.